question

bgessaro avatar image
bgessaro asked bgessaro posted

HTML Test Report XSLT Modification(s) for TimeStamp

As I am not an XSLT expert by any stretch of the imagination, I am looking for the XSLT file(s) modifications to allow the following report generation behavior:

Current: Each "Item" under "Steps" has a "Start Time" column whose values reflect the amount of time elapsed since the test case began execution.

Desired: Each "Item" under "Steps" has a "Start Time" column whose values reflect the system time the individual steps began.

I understand there is a file ...reports12.2/test_report_templates/HTML/item.xslt that formats the step "Start Time" under <!--~~ format time ~~-->, as well as a file ...reports12.2/test_report_templates/HTML/summary.xslt that contains the system time the test case started executing.  What are the actual changes I can make to these two files to create a test report with the desired output?

iTest
10 |950

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
GregM avatar image
GregM answered GregM posted

This isn't going to be easy.

The iTest Test Report viewer does have a timestamp column, but the HTML does not.  Apparently, this timestamp is not stored in the database; going by the Raw XML output format of test reports, it looks like start time (//startTime) is stored in the format:

yyyy-mm-ddThh:mm:ss.sss

and step time offset (//startOffset[stepnumber])

s.sss

But there does not seem to be a timestamp value for the steps, so these would have to be calculated by the xslt.  That means you would need to create two functions: one to translated the startTime into an absolute number of seconds and one to translate an absolute number of seconds into a timestamp. 

For example, the expression

substring-after(substring-before(//startTime,':'),'T')*3600+substring-before(substring-after(//startTime,':'),':')*60+substring-after(substring-after(//startTime,':'),':')